Uzbekistan exits Russia-controlled pact, joining Georgia, Azerbaijan

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Compiled by Miles Yu,

Unhappy with Russia’s dominance of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO), Uzbekistan on June 28 announced its withdrawal from the Moscow-led regional security alliance.

Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) military maneuvers in Tajikistan. ITAR/TASS

“Uzbekistan has sent the CSTO secretariat a note about the suspension of its participation in the activities of the CSTO,” the Russian news agency RIA Novosti reported.

CSTO was created in 1992 following the breakup of the Soviet Union. In its early years, members included Russia, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Belarus and Uzbekistan.

Over the years, however, several member states found the limitations inherent in the alliance to be uncomfortable. While the CSTO provides regional security protection to its members, the charter prohibits states from joining other alliances. In addition, Russia also has veto power to prevent other countries from allowing other nations or organizations to establish military bases on their territories.

Read complete article.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login